Dekorationsartikel gehören nicht zum Leistungsumfang.
The Bandit Queens
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023
Taschenbuch von Parini Shroff
Sprache: Englisch

17,00 €*

inkl. MwSt.

Versandkostenfrei per Post / DHL

Aktuell nicht verfügbar

Kategorien:
Beschreibung
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023

A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2023

'Not since Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger has the rotten core of modern India been exposed in quite such blackly antic fashion as Parini Shroff manages here in this intermittently absurd, feminist revenge caper about a group of snarky, much-abused, predominantly Hindu wives...sheer gutsy verve.' The Times

'A darkly funny revenge drama rooted in the reality of rural India . . . [A] vivid, unsentimental story that succeeds in being both satirical and moving.' Guardian

'A radically feel-good story about the murder of no-good husbands by a cast of unsinkable women' - New York Times

'Mordantly humoured, pacey feminist revenge thriller' - The Sunday Times__________________________________

For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife...

Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too.

Geeta is believed to have killed her vanished husband - a rumour she hasn't bothered trying to correct, because a reputation like that can keep a single woman safe in rural India. But when she's approached for help in ridding another wife of her abusive drunk of a husband, her reluctant agreement sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of all the women in the village....

A darkly irreverent and fresh take on a feminist revenge thriller, perfect for readers of My Sister the Serial Killer, How To Kidnap The Rich and the Sharon Horgan series Bad Sisters.

'Tender, unpredictable, brimming with laugh-out-loud moments' Tea Obreht, author of THE TIGER'S WIFE

'Original, memorable, and endearing' Charmaine Wilkerson, author of BLACK CAKE

'A rollicking mash-up of adventure story, thriller, dark revenge, and comedy' Cristina Garcia, author of DREAMING IN CUBAN
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023

A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2023

'Not since Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger has the rotten core of modern India been exposed in quite such blackly antic fashion as Parini Shroff manages here in this intermittently absurd, feminist revenge caper about a group of snarky, much-abused, predominantly Hindu wives...sheer gutsy verve.' The Times

'A darkly funny revenge drama rooted in the reality of rural India . . . [A] vivid, unsentimental story that succeeds in being both satirical and moving.' Guardian

'A radically feel-good story about the murder of no-good husbands by a cast of unsinkable women' - New York Times

'Mordantly humoured, pacey feminist revenge thriller' - The Sunday Times__________________________________

For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife...

Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too.

Geeta is believed to have killed her vanished husband - a rumour she hasn't bothered trying to correct, because a reputation like that can keep a single woman safe in rural India. But when she's approached for help in ridding another wife of her abusive drunk of a husband, her reluctant agreement sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of all the women in the village....

A darkly irreverent and fresh take on a feminist revenge thriller, perfect for readers of My Sister the Serial Killer, How To Kidnap The Rich and the Sharon Horgan series Bad Sisters.

'Tender, unpredictable, brimming with laugh-out-loud moments' Tea Obreht, author of THE TIGER'S WIFE

'Original, memorable, and endearing' Charmaine Wilkerson, author of BLACK CAKE

'A rollicking mash-up of adventure story, thriller, dark revenge, and comedy' Cristina Garcia, author of DREAMING IN CUBAN
Über den Autor
Parini Shroff is a graduate of Loyola Law School and holds a MFA from the University of Texas in Austin. Her work has appeared in journals such as Southern Humanities Review, Salamander and MacGuffin, among others. Her interests include reading in the bathtub with wine, concerts and boxing.
Details
Erscheinungsjahr: 2023
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Rubrik: Belletristik
Medium: Taschenbuch
Inhalt: 352 S.
ISBN-13: 9781838957155
ISBN-10: 1838957154
Sprache: Englisch
Einband: Kartoniert / Broschiert
Autor: Shroff, Parini
Hersteller: Atlantic Books
Maße: 229 x 150 x 26 mm
Von/Mit: Parini Shroff
Erscheinungsdatum: 02.03.2023
Gewicht: 0,44 kg
Artikel-ID: 125825378
Über den Autor
Parini Shroff is a graduate of Loyola Law School and holds a MFA from the University of Texas in Austin. Her work has appeared in journals such as Southern Humanities Review, Salamander and MacGuffin, among others. Her interests include reading in the bathtub with wine, concerts and boxing.
Details
Erscheinungsjahr: 2023
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Rubrik: Belletristik
Medium: Taschenbuch
Inhalt: 352 S.
ISBN-13: 9781838957155
ISBN-10: 1838957154
Sprache: Englisch
Einband: Kartoniert / Broschiert
Autor: Shroff, Parini
Hersteller: Atlantic Books
Maße: 229 x 150 x 26 mm
Von/Mit: Parini Shroff
Erscheinungsdatum: 02.03.2023
Gewicht: 0,44 kg
Artikel-ID: 125825378
Warnhinweis

Ähnliche Produkte

Ähnliche Produkte